Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Led Zeppelin - Houses Of The Holy - 1973 UK Pressed Atlantic 8-track 1st Issue LP

€ 40
ArtistLed Zeppelin
TitleHouses Of The Holy - 1973 UK Pressed Atlantic 8-track 1st Issue LP
Price € 40
Record labelAtlantic Recording Corporation
Catalogue noK50014
Year of release1973
GradingVG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG++ (Inner Sleeves)/VG+ (Cover)
Stock listLed Zeppelin
Additional infoScarce 1973 UK Atlantic Records 8-track 1st pressing vinyl LP - British hard rocker 5th album featuring the singles 'Over the Hills and Far Away' and the reggare rocker 'D'yer Mak'er'.

'Houses of the Holy' was dispensed a full 5 out of 5 stars rating in the Allmusic review and Stephen Thomas Erlewine wrote that the album follows the same basic heavy metal, folk, pure rock & roll, and blues pattern as Led Zeppelin IV, but with a 'looser and more relaxed' approach. 'Jimmy Page's riffs rely on ringing, folky hooks as much as they do on thundering blues-rock, giving the album a lighter, more open atmosphere.'

Vinyl has the generic green and orange company labels with top boxed company name and logo: integrated 'A', 'fan' and 'Atlantic' text - on orange/green, purple and yellow backgrounds respectively.
Labels have no WEA logo and the 'All Rights...' lower rim text is placed entirely in the orange label section, manifesting that this is a first issue.

Vinyl has machine stamped matrix informtion:
Side 1: K50014A3 STERLING RL A5
Side 2: K50014B2 STERLING RL D13
matrix number itself is printed horizontally suggesting this one to pre pressed by the 'CBS Pressing Plant, Aston Clinton' along with the mother/stamper numbers, Robert Ludwig mastering signature is handetched - mastered by Sterling Sound, New York.

Vinyl is housed in a textured lyric inner sleeve and ultimately in ultimately in a MacNeil Press manufactured and Hipgnosis designed matt finish gatefold picture cover.

Condition: VG+(+) (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+ (Inner Sleeves)/VG+ (Cover):

Vinyl is bright and shiny - has some degree of light and far from audible scuffs and sleeve lines from the interaction between the coarse card sleeve interior and the vinyl.
Side 1 label has 3 - 4 slightly scattered and superficial spindletraces placed within the center ring - Side 2 label just a single or two in the immediate vicinity of the center hole.
Vinyl is graded close to near mint - labels close to near mint.

Inner sleeve has hardly any signs of use - graded near mint. Cover has a very light degree of ring wear, a couple of tiny, tiny top back white spots which lookslike they stem from the production process.

Cover has intact seams and spine... except from a couple of tiny crease like imperfections at the point of origin of the front cover wrinkles.
Cover has slightly rubbed seams towards lower corners and a touch to just a little corners rubbing... all in all a series of far from grave imperfection which adds up to a lovely´, easily enjoyable cover - graded straight VG+.


Side 1:
1. The Song Remains The Same 5:32
2. The Rain Song 7:39
3. Over The Hills And Far Away 4:50
4. The Crunge (John Bonham John Paul Jones) 3:17

Side 2:
1. Dancing Days 3:43
2. D'yer Mak'er (John Bonham John Paul Jones) 4:23
3. No Quarter 7:00
4. The Ocean (John Bonham John Paul Jones) 4:31

All songs composed by Jimmy Page and Robert Plant - additional songwriting credits noted at relevant tracks.

Recorded December 1971 - August 1972 at Headley Grange Estate, in East Hampshire and at Rolling Stones Mobile Studio at Stargroves, in Hampshire county, England.
Recorded at Olympic Studios in May 1972, and during the Led Zeppelins 1972 North American tour at Electric Lady Studios in New York.

Cover printed by MacNeill Press Ltd.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, 88 10th Ave., 6th Floor, New York, NY 10011
Pressed at CBS Pressing Plant, Aston Clinton, UK


Led Zeppelin:
John Bonham - drums
John Paul Jones - bass guitar, keyboards, mellotron, synthesiser, organ, piano, grand piano, synthesiser piano, synthesised bass
Jimmy Page - acoustic, electric, and pedal steel guitar, theremin on "No Quarter,"
Robert Plant - lead vocals

Technical credits:
Jimmy Page - Production
Keith Harwood - mixing
Hipgnosis - sleeve art direction
Andy Johns - engineering, mixing (on "No Quarter")
Eddie Kramer - engineering, mixing
Bob Ludwig - mastering

Aubrey Powell - cover photography
Hipgnosis - Sleeve Design
Stefan and Samantha Gates - Cover models