Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Elton John - Empty Sky - 1975 US Pressed MCA label 9-track LP

€ 14
ArtistElton John
TitleEmpty Sky - 1975 US Pressed MCA label 9-track LP
Price € 14
GenrePop & Rock
Record labelMCA Records
Catalogue noMCA-2130
Year of release1975
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels/ VG+(+) (Cover)
Stock listElton John
Additional info1975 US Pressed MCA label 9-track LP - Elton Johns ambitiously arranged debut album and the beginning of his long and fruitful collaboration with lyricist Bernie Taupin.
'Empty Sky' was originally recorded December 1968 - April 1969 at Dick James Music Studios, London, and subsequently released in the UK on the DJM label... but first several years later in the US with different cover art, well after John's fame had been established internationally.

Stephen Thomas Erlewine find the album '... quite indicative of the post-Sgt. Pepper's era..., and writes in his Allmusic review that the album '... alternates between vaguely psychedelic rock and Taupin and John's burgeoning pop songcraft...'

Vinyl has the generic black 'rainbow' motif company labels with large, bold, blue, Capital lettering MCA Records text to the top tight of the center hole - otherwise silver printed text.

Vinyl is housed in a 'Sphinx' pictured gatefold picture sleeve with inner spread English lyrics.

Conditon: VG++ (Vinyl and Labels/ VG+(+) (Cover):

Vinyl is supremely shiny - hardly any signs of play or handling except for a single or two hardly visible paper scuffs - mint labels.

Cover is nice - a touch of back ring wear - next to nothing - otherwise only faint wear to front and back cover centers combined with a little superficial creasing and a very slight top-front opening corner bend resulting in a very slight corner wrinkle.

Seams and edges are straight and almost without rubbing - almost perfect spine and only very slightly rubbed corners - all in all a simply above average cover, which has a few marginal imperfections - graded close to near mint.


Side 1:
1. Empty Sky 8:29
2. Valhalla 4:09
3. Western Ford Gateway 3:12
4. Hymn 2000 4:30

Side 2:
1. Lady What's Tomorrow 3:06
2. Sails 3:39
3. The Scaffold 3:13
4. Skyline Pigeon 3:31
5. Gulliver / Hay Chewed 6:58

All songs written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.

Recorded December 1968 - April 1969 at Dick James Studio, London.
Pressed By MCA Pressing Plant, Gloversville, NY, USA

Elton John - vocals, piano, organ, electric piano, harpsichord
Tony Murray - Bass Guitar
Nigel Olsson and Roger Pope - Drums and percussion
Caleb Quaye - Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Congas
Graham Vickery - Harmonica
Don Fay - Tenor Saxophone, Flute

Technical Credits:
Steve Brown - Production
Frank Owen - engineer
Clive Franks - Tape Operator and Whistling

David Larkham - Art direction, Sleeve design, Photography
Jean Michel Folon - Front cover painting
Terry O'Neill - Photography