Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

New Riders Of The Purple Sage - Gypsy Cowboy - 1972 US Columbia label 11-track LP

€ 20
ArtistNew Riders Of The Purple Sage
TitleGypsy Cowboy - 1972 US Columbia label 11-track LP
Price € 20
GenreRock & Country
Record labelColumbia Records
Catalogue noKC 31930
Year of release1972
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+(+) (Cover)
Stock listNew Riders Of The Purple Sage
Additional info1972 US Columbia label 11-track LP - San Francisco Peninsula twangy country rockers 3rd album - featuring guest appearance of Dead singer Donna Jean Godchaux on the songs 'Whiskey' and 'Long Black Veil'.
'Gypsy Cowboy' features the single 'Groupie'.

Vinyl has the generic red company labels with orange company name and camera eyes rimprint and black center print.

Vinyl has handetehced matrix information:
Side 1: PAL 31930-1A o Sx (Artisan Logo)
Side 2: PBL 31930-1A o Sx (Artisan Logo)
only the logo for Columbias mothers and stampers Cutomatrix is machine stamped - matrix info otherwise signals that this one is mastered by Artisan? based at the time in Hollywood and possibly printed at Columbias pressing plant in Santa Maria, California.

Vinyl is housed in a back pasted picture cover.

Condition : VG++ (Vinyl and Labels)/VG+(+) (Cover):

Vinyl is bright and shiny - hardly any signs of play or handling - graded close to mint.

Labels has a very light degree of slightly scattered spindletraces - likewise graded near mint.

Cover is very nice - just a touch of wear or smudging along front vinyl outline - nothing to back cover.
Cover has hardly any wrinkling from edges - just a touch of rubbing to edges or corners and milder top corner dents of whoch the spine one is slightly more pronounced - all in all a very nice cover thought - graded close to near mint/excellent.


Side 1:
1. Gypsy Cowboy (Dave Torbert) 4:17
2. Whiskey 3:33
3. Groupie (Dave Torbert) 2:40
4. Sutter's Mill 1:52
5. Death and Destruction 8:39

Side 2:
1. Linda 3:04
2. On My Way Back Home (Dave Torbert) 3:29
3. Superman 3:09
4. She's No Angel (Wanda Ballman) 2:51
5. Long Black Veil (Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin) 3:56
6. Sailin' 2:49

Written and composed by John Dawson unless otherwise noted

Mastered at Artisan Sound Recorders, Burbank Blvd., North Hollywood 91601
Mothers and stampers provided by Customatrix
Pressed by Columbias pressing plant in Santa Maria, California


John Dawson - rhythm guitar, lead vocals on "Whiskey", "Sutter's Mill", "Death and Destruction", "Linda", "Superman", 1st joint lead vocal on "Long Black Veil", and "Sailin'"
David Nelson - lead guitar, dobro, mandolin, bagpipes, lead vocals on "She's No Angel", 2nd joint lead vocal on "Long Black Veil"
Dave Torbert - bass, acoustic guitar, lead vocals on "Gypsy Cowboy", "Groupie", and "On My Way Back Home", 3rd joint lead vocal on "Long Black Veil"
Buddy Cage - pedal steel guitar
Spencer Dryden - drums

Additional Musicians:
Darlene DiDomenico - backing vocals on "Whiskey", "On My Way Back Home", and "Superman"
Donna Jean Godchaux - backing vocals on "She's No Angel", and "Long Black Veil"
Richard Greene - violin
Mark Naftalin - piano
Jack Schroer - saxophone

Technical Credits:

Stephen Barncard - Production, Engineer
NRPS - Production
Dave Brown, Ellen Burke - Engineer

Lore Orion - Cover Art
John Tobler - Liner Notes