Browse by artist:    a  b  c  d  e  f  g  h  i  j  k  l  m  n  o  p  q  r  s  t  u  v  w  x  y  z   other 

Caravan - For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night - Original 1973 UK Deram label 1st Issue 7-track LP

€ 55
TitleFor Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night - Original 1973 UK Deram label 1st Issue 7-track LP
Price € 55
Record labelDeram
Catalogue noSDL-R 12
Year of release1973
GradingVG++ (Vinyl and Labels/ VG++ (Cover)
Stock listCaravan
Additional infoRare Original 1973 UK Pressed Deram label 7-track LP, of Canterbury scene quintets 5th album.

Vinyl has the generic upper red and lower white company labels with upper large white company name-logo.

Vinyl is held in a generic era specific company inner sleeve, and ultimately in an outer laminated Robert Stace printed gatefold cover.

Condition: VG++ (Vinyl and Labels/ VG++ (Cover)

Vinyl has a superb lustre - hardly any signs of play or handling... just a touch of sleeve inflicted wear.

Labels has a very light degree of spindlewear - all light and superficial - less than a handful on both sides - label are graded close to mint.

Cover is great - a touch of wrinkling from edges - hardly any laminate wear, very marginal lower corners imperfections - easily graded near mint.


Side 1:
1. Memory Lain, Hugh / Headloss 9:19
2. Hoedown 3:20
3. Surprise, Surprise 4:07
4. C'thlu Thlu 6:15

Side 2:
5. The Dog, The Dog, He's at It Again 5:58
6. Be All Right / Chance of a Lifetime 6:37
7. L'Auberge du Sanglier / A Hunting We Shall Go / Pengola / Backwards / A Hunting We Shall Go (reprise) 10:07

All songs written and composed by Pye Hastings, except "Pengola" by John G. Perry and "Backwards" by Mike Ratledge.

Recorded at Decca Tolling Park Studios, 106 Tollington Park, London N4 3RB, and at Chipping Norton Recording Studios. 26-32 New Street, Chipping Norton, Oxon OX7 5LJ, England.

Recorded and mastered at at Decca Studios, 165 Broadhurst Gardens, West Hampstead, London NW6 3AX

Re-mixed at Decca Tollington Park Studios and AIR Recording Studios, Lyndhurst Hall, Lyndhurst Road, Hampstead, London NW3 5NG, UK

Pressed at Decca Record Co. Ltd., Burlington Road, New Malden, Surrey, UK


Pye Hastings - guitar, vocals
Geoff Richardson - viola
David Sinclair - organ, piano, electric piano, Davoli synthesizer, ARP synthesizer
John G. Perry - bass, vocals, percussion
Richard Coughlan - drums, percussion, timpani

Additonal Musicians:
Rupert Hine - ARP synthesizer
Frank Ricotti - congas
Jimmy Hastings - flute
Paul Buckmaster - electric cello
Tony Coe - clarinet, tenor saxophone
Pete King - flute, alto saxophone
Harry Klein - clarinet, baritone saxophone
Henry Lowther - trumpet
Jill Pryor - voice
Chris Pyne - trombone
Barry Robinson - piccolo
Tom Whittle - clarinet, tenor saxophone

Technical Credits:
David Hitchcock - production
Kevin Fuller, Derek Varnarls (Tollington Park Studios), David Grinsted (The Chipping Norton Recording Studio) - engineers
John Burns (Decca Studios West Hampstead) - Overdubs engineer
John Punter - (AIR Recording Studios) - Remix Engineer
Lindsay Kid (Decca Studios West Hampstead) - Assistant Engineer (Overdubs)
David Baker, Alan Leeming (Tollington Park Studios), Sean Milligan (AIR Recording Studios) - Re-mix assistant engineers
Caravan - Arrangements
Jimmy Hastings - brass and woodwind arrangements
Martyn Ford, John Bell - string arrangements
Martyn Ford - conducting

Mark Lawrence - cover design and photography